Ok, so this isn’t going to be a post about me, but a post about one of my favorite shows.

Anyone who knows me, knows how much I love my crime dramas. I am not ashamed to admit how much of a TV nerd I am, especially when it comes to CSI: Miami, Bones, Law & Order: SVU, Criminal Minds….you get the point right.

These shows affect me, they make me laugh, they make me cry (yes, Miami & Bones, I am talking to you). They are strictly for entertainment purposes. Television isn’t my whole life, but right now its probably the only part of my life that I have  control over.

So lets get to the purpose of my post. My love for one of my favorite shows, and my frustration towards those who openly bash my favorite characters.

I love CSI: Miami and all of its cheesiness. I have met (on twitter & in RL) a lot of great people because of this part of my life. We can get together & discuss the good, the bad & the ugly. Everyone is entitled to their opinions, but when does that person’s opinion become the opinion of the entire group?

Yes, I do realize that not everyone was thrilled when Adam Rodriguez signed back on to the show. I, for one, was ecstatic. The show was lacking something last season when he was missing. There are some people who don’t like the character he plays, which is fine. I am not expecting everyone to share my love for him. But when does it get to be too much? Why is it ok for some people to openly bash him (both the character & the actor) and then be offended when someone says something bad about one of the characters they like? But here is the part that gets me, if you don’t like the character, why must you continually bash him. Ok, we get it, you don’t like him, MOVE ON!

These are characters that we have all come to love (or hate). We, as fans, only have so much of a say in a storyline. To say that two characters have taken over a show is absolute nonsense. Again, speaking as a fan of the two characters in question, I didn’t see it as them taking over story lines. Yes, maybe those episodes were a little more focused on them, but I didn’t see it as ALL about them. Seeing the two characters in question establish a relationship was important to the story. This happens in real life, the people you work with are important to you, they are like family and yes, sometimes those relationships develop into something deeper. We see a connection between two people, and we expect to see that relationship develop. For anyone who has watched this show from the beginning, we have been hoping for this since the beginning of the show (or if you are like me, the first time I saw them together). I am not ashamed to admit that, yes, I have a vested interest in the “personal” lives of two television characters. Yes, I take offense when one person thinks that he or she can speak for the entire collective. Yes, I take offense when people bash my two favorite characters. Yes, I am mad as hell that the writers broke up Eric & Calleigh. Do I want Eric & Calleigh back together, yes of course I do. Would I love to see an ENTIRE episode dedicated to them, once again, of course, preferribly with Eric shirtless…but I digress. I know that the writers can’t make all of us happy, hell they can’t even make half of us happy.   I used to love going to one of the show’s forums, now its just a joke. I understand that people are unhappy, but again, don’t blame the actors, blame the people who need to be blamed. The writers & the producers are the ones who have the final say about the show.

I watch CSI: Miami for the silliness of Horatio Caine, for the beeuty that is Emily Procter, for the HOTNESS that is Adam Rodriguez, for the laughs I can get from Jon Togo & Omar Miller. If you don’t like it, just don’t watch it.

 

 

 

