I went to a wake today. I didn’t know the young lady who died, I knew her brother & sister. I felt that it was my duty, as their friend, to go and show my support for them & their family.

She was 20 years old. She was a mother, a sister, a daughter. Now she has become a statistic. A young woman, fatally stabbed at a party. One night changed the lives of so many people. She had gone out to for a night of fun. There was a fight, and in all the chaos, she was stabbed multiple times. She was found in a vehicle, unresponsive. She later died at a local hospital.

I don’t understand what pushes people to violence. Are we so desensitized by violence that it seems to be the only answer? Will our children ever know a world without violence? Our children our dying and it seems like nothing can be done to stop it. When will the violence end? How many more mothers have to bury their children before someone puts and end to it? I know there is not an easy answer to this, but it has to start somewhere. We are a product of our environment, unfortunately, sometimes this environment includes violence on a daily basis. I don’t have an answer, but as a mother myself, I am afraid for my daughter. I can not imagine the pain of losing a child. I’ve lost friends and friends have lost friends because of violence, I know it doesn’t get any easier.

I don’t know what to say to them. The words, I am so sorry for your loss mean absolutely nothing coming from me. As I stand there and embrace my friend, this man who I have known since I was 10, I can only hope and pray that God will bring him & his family through this pain.

Think twice, we only have one life to live. Love each other enough to know that violence is not the answer. A mother should never have to bury her child and children should never have to grow up without their mother.

