Hopelessly addicted to twitter

Social networking is the hottest trend right now. I, myself, am addicted to it. I hate it sometimes because I feel that it takes a huge chunk of my life. But it gives me an escape from reality. Right now, twitter is my social networking drug of choice. I love twitter; it makes me laugh, a lot. I have a group of tweet-buddies who I am sure I will most likely never have the pleasure of meeting in person, but they give me a reason to smile every day. Unfortunately, there is a downside to social networking…some things just can’t be kept to ourselves.

I used to have a friend who thinks she is just a little better than everyone else. I don’t know if it’s just the way she comes off when she says things or if she is just that way. She says things to make herself look important or to try to impress certain people. I went along with it for a little while, wondering what she would say or do. But then, something happened. She deleted me…imagine the horror. Ok so maybe I am being a little over dramatic, but I have absolutely no idea what I did wrong. Maybe she didn’t like the things I was saying or maybe she didn’t like the fact that I was talking to other people more than I was talking to her. Whatever the reason is, I guess it’s just a side effect of social networking. I guess I wasn’t who she expected, or maybe I just wasn’t cool enough for her world…

“Everyone in life is gonna hurt you, you just have to figure out which people are worth the pain.” ~ Erica Baican

A few years back someone I loved broke my heart into a million pieces. Unfortunately, he was everywhere. Myspace was his social networking drug of choice. So instead of trying to get over my broken heart, I made it worse. I would look at his page constantly and then make the mistake of looking at his girlfriends page. That made it even worse. Myspace can be childish, especially if you know that someone is looking at your page. We purposely put stuff out there just to get a rise out of people. I hate to say it, but I am guilty of it. I put things on my page hoping that either he or she was looking at it. I was being childish, yes I know, but I wanted him to hurt as much as I was. Turns out I was only hurting myself. He didn’t love me, he never cared. I was the one holding the pieces to my broken heart and I was allowing him to keep hurting me.

A few months after we broke up, I met someone new, coincidentally on Myspace. I guess I was so happy about trying to get over my broken heart that I didn’t care.. He seemed great, at the time. Things were going good or at least I thought. We were together every weekend; he was introducing me to his friends. But of course, all good things must come to an end. I went on vacation for a week…and come home to find out on Myspace that he was with someone else. I wasn’t his only one, I guess I had always had a feeling…but like I said, I wanted to get over my last relationship and I thought this was the best way to do it. It’s been almost two years since my Myspace breakup…and truth is I’ve never been happier.

When it comes to social networking it can either be a blessing or a curse. I have met a lot of great people online. I have my “groups”, our CSI: Miami fanatics and my twitter crew in Texas. I love reading what people have to say. Unfortunately, there is also that downside to social networking.

They say curiosity killed the cat, well in my case curiosity killed my happiness. Instead of focusing on me, I focused on what someone else was doing and saying. It’s a nasty trend, but I know that I am not the only one who does this. So my advice, for what it’s worth, if you don’t like what people are saying delete them from your life (or myspace, facebook, twitter).  Ultimately we are in charge of our own happiness, not our social networking groups. They just make our life just a little more interesting.



